Tuesday’s Democratic Presidential Candidate Debate: Who has the most to gain?

First, let’s get some basics out of the way. The debate is 8:30 EST Tuesday on CNN. (7:30 CDT, 6:30 MDT, 5:30 PDT) Anderson Cooper is moderating. Now that we know you’ll be watching, here’s what you should be watching for: Joe Biden: The vice-president hasn’t said he’s not running and there’s been something a … Continue reading Tuesday’s Democratic Presidential Candidate Debate: Who has the most to gain?

Has Social Media Changed Political Activism?

In elementary school my teachers always encouraged us to vote. We practiced filling out ballots like we rehearsed our cursive and writing pretend checks for one million dollars. It was pounded into us. The tradition followed through into middle school and high school where I ran for class president and Head of Social Events. The … Continue reading Has Social Media Changed Political Activism?

180 Minutes of talking points from 11 candidates: The GOP debate summarized in less than five minutes.

Jeb Bush: Bush’s performance gained strength as the three-hour debate wore on. His strongest moment came when he defended the post-Sept. 11 policies of his brother, former President George Bush. “He kept us safe,” Bush said. However, early in the debate Bush – who many feel has failed to connect with voters despite high expectations … Continue reading 180 Minutes of talking points from 11 candidates: The GOP debate summarized in less than five minutes.

When “Politically Correct” and Social Media Collide

A riff on the spectrum of “political correctness” has been causing a stir among American voters of late. While people have always had some level of filter when it came to speech, these filters are being tested as to where they fall on the politically correct scale.  We’ve become a nation of censored, whether self-governed … Continue reading When “Politically Correct” and Social Media Collide

How Politically Correct are Politics?

“The military is not a social experiment. The purpose of the military is kill people and break things.” – Mike Huckabee “That must be a pretty picture, you on your knees.” – Donald Trump “Every time someone takes a sip of Guinness, a part of straight marriage dies.” – Bobby Jindal As Americans we often make … Continue reading How Politically Correct are Politics?